top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

Vintage Fashion - The appeal of peter pan collars

Hello my vintage lovelies! Since many of the people I know online are vintage fashion bloggers, I thought a vintage fashion post would be the perfect way to officially kick off my blog posts. What better subject than everybody's favorite, the peter pan collar!

You see, nothing strikes a vintager's fancy quite like a peter pan collar. It has that nostalgic charm that has carried over into moder wear. What in the world makes it so charming? Well, I decided to find out.

One reason, I believe, is the name. Hearing the name of Peter Pan makes us think of our childhood classics, old fashioned, magical books that possibly started our love of the nostalgic. I couldn't imagine a more fitting name for such an adorable style, and it is more fitting than you may think. It was named after the collar in the 1905 Peter Pan costume for the stage, and proved a success in American fashion. The collar really became a standard style in the 30s and 40s, which brings me to my main reason for its appeal: its genuine vintage look.

The reason why I like to dress in those old styles is because there's something special about the old-fashioned and antique. It is a way to stand out and be different in a modest way without having the garish style of a "be yourself" pop star. Not everyone likes to dress this way, but everyone loves the peter pan collar, and I believe that the reason everyone loves it is because that love of the old-fashioned is in everyone. Some things are far too adorable to dislike. The peter pan collar is one of them. I am pleased to see that more and more young girls are finding girly florals, laces, peter pan collars, and bows to be more pretty and flattering than the ragged looks of the 90s and early 2000s. I do believe that feminine is making a comeback!

I hope this post has made your day a little brighter. Please leave a comment, and God bless!


I love to hear from my readers so please comment. The only thing better than comments are longer comments so don't be shy! However, do not write anything inappropriate or use profanity. Thank you!

 

bottom of page