top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

Singer Style - Jo Stafford

Jo Stafford. Her iconically clear voice, effortless vibrato, and unbeatable phrasing makes her my favorite--yes, you heard me right--my favorite girl singer of all! That's saying a lot since I've listened to so many amazing singers. She was fabulous with the Pied Pipers, and she wasn't afraid to add humor to her songs. But she could also mesmerize with her serious performances.

In addition to having the voice of an angel, she was also a beauty with a keen sense of fashion. Of course, she could dress up fancy at times, but my favorite of her looks is that careless, relaxed style she wore so often. She always looked like a bunch of fun. Also, I feel totally comfortable recreating these looks because they are still often worn today. So without further ado, here are some Jo Stafford styles for you to pull off. Enjoy!

1. Pullover sweaters

She often wore simple but cute pullover sweaters. You can't go wrong with that classic! Paired with a pair of slacks and a cloud of fluffy hair, it looks good enough to eat.

2. Rolled up sleaves

Care free and ready to go. She proves the rolling up sleaves isn't messy, it's adorable! And it's very wearable.

3. The right necklace

Nothing classes up an outfit better than a necklace, and her picks were always spot on. Never too much; never too unnoticeable.

Finally, I feel I must note that while searching for pictures for this post, I noticed that Jo Stafford has a doppelganger! She is a dead ringer for Bonita Vear of the blog Lavender and Twill. What do you think?

Please comment and let me know what singer you would like to see next. I hope this post has made your day a little brighter. Thank you and God bless!

I love to hear from my readers so please comment. The only thing better than comments are longer comments so don't be shy! However, do not write anything inappropriate or use profanity. Thank you!

 

bottom of page