top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

Magazine Tuesday - Woman's Day July, 1942

This is my very first weekly magazine post, and I'm so glad to participate in it as well as the Boyer Sisters and the Calico Sisters. How exciting!

This week I'll be showing you my July '42 Woman's Day magazine. It is the perfect domestic combination of cooking, home decorating, fashion, and social issues. This is a wartime issue, so patriotism dominated article after article. It was very fascinating to see how strongly people cared about WWII. America really came together and used every opportunity to show their support for their country.

Alright, here is the front cover. It is spectacular! I recognized the artist, John Clymer, as one who regularly did the covers of the Saturday Evening Post in the fifties. One odd thing I noticed is that my Clymer Post magazines generally have a landscape with a few small figures from far away. Instead, this cover is loaded with people.

And a close up so you can see just how lovely it is.

I thought it was interesting to have a scripture verse on the first page. My, have times changed!

The first article was about the ladies who made our country's flags. Imagine the care that they must have put into their work. It also talked about how to properly care for your American flag.

The second article was about wartime brides. Interviewing the army wives, the writers got the ladies' point of view about what it was like having their husbands defending our country, and the worry they must have felt while they were gone.

Next up was a silly game couples could play at a get together. They had to write a paragraph, then answer the questions about their handwriting. Depending on the answers, they were either a good spouse or a bad spouse. Don't worry, it was all in fun!

The next artical was more lighthearted. Of course, victory gardens were popping up in every yard, and there must be a way to save some of that food. This artical was actually two parts, one about canning, and one about salting and drying. I hope that someday I can be that housewife who cans and dries her own winter foods.

Following this artical was one about quilting projects one might do. Things like slippers, dresser skirts, and purses. To think of all the things that the average housewife used to be able to do! No wonder it was a big deal to graduate highschool. To do all that and still have time for school must have been difficult.

Hullo! It's fashion, my favorite! This artical is about 40s knits. You know, the dreamy kind that every vintage lover drools over with the short puffy sleeves.

Here's a close up of my two favorite. Isn't that double breasted one glorious?

Then, there is a big section with lots of recipes. The cooking section finishes off with a whole segment on sugarless desserts using replacements like jam, molasses, fruit, and corn syrup. It is really interesting to see how these ladies took matters into their own hands and produced scrumptious dishes amidst the severe rationing.

Moving on to the "home" section, we see a cute artical on repurposing lamps. I always thought that repurposing was a fairly new trend, especially since HGTV and Pinterest came out. But apparantly not. These seem fairly easy to do, although it's funny to see beautiful antiques called "outdated" back then. I dread thirty years from now, when the vintage scene will consist of people who think that the 80s and 90s were classy and cute vintage.

The final artical is about hair. YAY! It gives two pin curl sets for short 'dos. I especially like the first one.

And that finishes it! But of course, what is a vintage magazine without all of the ads to enjoy!

This one I thought was really cute.

This one is just plain lovely. The hat and gloves, the tea set, the glasses, and of course the coffee! I drink Eight O'Clock coffee so this makes me particularly happy.

This is one of the funny ones! Those ads you have to double take to make sure it is for real. They are never dull!

This one is perfect because not only is it beautifully illustrated, but it is also so quintessentially 40s.

Finally, this adorable Pepsident ad featuring twins.

I hope you enjoyed this magazine as much as I have! If you would like to see an article more thoroughly just email me under the "contact" tab, and I'll be happy to do that. I hope this post has made your day a little brighter! Thank you and God bless!


I love to hear from my readers so please comment. The only thing better than comments are longer comments so don't be shy! However, do not write anything inappropriate or use profanity. Thank you!

 

bottom of page